Google+, the last (read latest) attempt at social media by Google, will no longer be available after 2nd April.
The beleaguered social media platform has had a rough time in recent days with a massive data breach that led to Google accelerating the sunset timelines, which means everything on Google+ will be deleted, including posts, pages, etc.
We don’t think you are using Google+ , however, if you are (who are you kidding), we help you with everything that you need to know about the shutdown.
Why is Google+ being shut down?
Mostly for the fact that no one uses Google+. Even though there are billions of Google+ profile, not a lot of people use it due to the fact that Google forcibly create an account for anybody that registers with a Google account. E.g. if you have a gmail account, it is likely that you also have a Google+ account.
Of course, this mean there are a lot of profiles but lot of profiles does not mean lots of users and enagement. This means Google has to manage, maintain and protect the data on Google+. And that costs a lot of money.
Google figured, they’re better off limiting their costs and avoiding potential lawsuits in future if any data breach occur.
What does Google+ being shut down mean, what wil disappear?
It means all the data on Google+ will be deleted. Everything. All pages, photos, videos, albums on Google+.
However, it will not affect any other Google products that you may be using. E.g. your if you have photos on Google+ they will be deleted, however, if you have photos on Google Photos, they will remain as-is.
Should you care about Google+ shutting down?
Depends on if you are using it, it is possible you have just created you profile while signing up for some Google services. Google does create a Google+ acount for anyone who registers to use any product.
You can go to plus.google.com and check if you have a profile.
If you are not using Google+
You don’t need to do anything.
If you are using Google+ (again, who are you kidding?)
You need to visit this page to download all the data from Google+. Just follow the step by step instructions.